Carmel College, Prescot Road, St Helens, Merseyside, WA10 3AG

01744 452200

BTEC Computing

BTEC Computing

The BTEC Computing course is a Level 3 National Extended Certificate which is equivalent to one A Level. There are four units in total delivered over two years. Two are assessed via examination and two are assessed via coursework.

BTEC courses are changing in 2017 and will now include a range of external assessment methods e.g. exams, controlled assessments & board set assignments. Internally assessed units will require you to complete an assignment and use ICT to present your evidence using a variety of standard software packages. This may include websites, presentations, reports, brochures/leaflets etc. The Computing specification has been revised by the exam board, in collaboration with universities and employers, to ensure that content is up-to-date and gives students the skills and knowledge needed in the field of Computing.

Units of study...

Principles of Computer Science

Fundamentals of Computer Systems

IT Systems Security and Encryption

Website Development

To download the course leaflet click here